You guessed it, more spinning

Sorry I’ve been awol for a few days.  We’ve had a few unexpected events occur in our little corner of the universe lately.  But, everything is calming down again, so I’ve snapped a few piccies of my latest spinning attempts.

Hand dyed thick & thin single

Hand dyed thick & thin single

IMG_2890

IMG_2888

I hand dyed a skein of the ‘unknown’ roving that I’ve been given to learn with, using the gladwrap & microwave method.  It has been spun into a thick & thin single, which I’ve set just as is.  I was going to ply it with some fine golden thread, but decided that it would have been a bit of overkill.

The aqua/blue merino/silk has eventuated into a scrummy little bundle.  I’ll definately be getting more to spin with.  Yum, scrum!  I’ve plyed it with some of the light grey unknown wool that I was given.  It’s about an 8 ply.

IMG_2891

IMG_2894

In other spinning news, the next Majacraft Magic Camp will be during the weekend of 19 – 21 February 2010. Soooooooooooo exciting!!!  It will be in Upper Hutt, so I get to spend a weekend spinning my little heart out, AND visit my long lost friends who I miss so much in Wellies.  (Hi Rachael!!!  Miss you!)

Lexi Boeger (Pluckyfluff) will be taking a two day workshop showing us how she makes art yarns.   Lexi is the author of “Handspun Revolution” and “Intertwined” and is the world’s leading exponent of this type of spinning.  Lexi’s work is just divine, we are very lucky to have her coming over to little old New Zealand 🙂 :-).  Are any of you going too?  I’d love to hear from you if you are.

'Spring Bird' Collection - Baby Blue

'Spring Bird' Collection - Baby Blue

A little birdie tells me that the new collections are just about ready for release.  I’m finding balancing work with raising two little girls and keeping a house in order a bit hectic to be honest.  I’m thinking of releasing the new collections slowely, every Monday like the fabulous Morag of Vintage Purl’s (hope you don’t mind me  sharing a Monday with you :-)).  I think this will give me a target to work towards, and it give you guys something to look forward to too.  I’ll let you all know when Monday Madness begins……….

9 responses to “You guessed it, more spinning

  1. Kate i think it is a GREAT idea relasing them slowly so you dont get too hot and bothered 🙂

  2. Thanks Hannah :-). It gives me something to work towards, and I’ll have to just get as much done as I can and not stress about it. There’s only so much time in the day, and I’m also mindfull of the fact that the girl’s will only be little for such a short time. I don’t want to miss them growing up.

  3. Wow – you have been busy!!! I love all the colours, really makes me want to be able to knit, dye, spin and all of that. Now that camp thingie sounds very cool – I will have to come and visit you when you are down, and pretend that I know about all that wool kinda stuff 🙂

    • Rachael, you need to come and visit me here, then I could teach you to spin, hee hee!!! I’m sure Shane wouldn’t mind Kyle sitting for a weekend??!!

  4. OMG Kate your spinning is fantastic. Can’t believe you have only been doing it for a few weeks. That first one is so yummy 🙂

    • Thanks Jo, you should give it a go. it’s seriously fun, and you can pick up a decent wheel for under $100 on TM :-). Check out the roving available in the spinning section too!

  5. wow yeah i love the colours of those! you’ve really got the hang of it quickly too 🙂 can’t wait to get back into it myself.. oh & don’t forget to share pics of any roving you dye too!!

    • YES!!! Go for it Nova! It’s so much fun, the possibilities are endless. Check out Lexi’s blog/website for some inspiration too. She rocks.
      I’ve just arrived home from spinning group tonight, tee hee, and am off to a WHOLE day of spinning at the local Creative Fibre group tomorrow. Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

  6. You sure know how to live the high life! I can assure readers they look every bit as good in person as online 🙂 You’re learning super fast Kate!

Leave a Reply

